End of Season Update

Well, folks. The 2012 season has come and gone and, as you may have noticed, I pretty much stopped blogging midway through the season.  As it turns out, I suddenly was way over my photo allotment on this site (Thanks, WordPress!).  Without being able to upload photos, I felt that blogging about my further adventures was pretty pointless.

While I found myself with extra time (which came in handy since my wife and I adopted a dog in August), I sure do miss being a part of the blog community… I still read two blogs with regularity.  Those would be Zack Hample’s blog and Todd Cook’s blog.  So, I still get to learn about what other folks are up to and I enjoy going through the comments to see the branches of the ballhawking community extending through the blogosphere.

And I’m still keeping up with MyGameBalls.com, too.  All of my 2012 gamesd are updated there and you’ll notice that I started adding notes to each baseball that I snagged throughout the year.  Sort of like a mini-blog for each ball.  I ended up with 105 baseballs this season to bring my lifetime total to 490.  And I currently have a streak going… 121 games with at least one baseball pocketed as a souvenir!  Not too shabby for a guy who just started doing this in August of 2008.

Along the way I went to three different stadiums (none new) and snagged three new types of commemorative baseball: Dodgers, Orioles, and Red Sox.  I’m looking forward to the Astros being around in Anaheim often next season in hopes that I can snag an older 50th ball or an inaugural season ball (for their AL switch–if thosee exist).  Also, I ended up with quite a few autographs, both from mail-in submissions and in-person stuff.

I’ll be keeping the blog active but you’re not likely to see too many new posts from me going forward.  Keep checking MyGameBalls for details on my games, snags, and other cool stuff I might be up to, loyal readers.  Enjoy the off-season!

One comment

  1. Cook & Son Bats

    That’s for the undate, Matt. I keep checking back to in hopes that you’ll be back in action. Your blog was one of my mainstays while you were active. Darn, WordPress! 😦 I’m glad you’re adding comments to your baseballs on mygameballs.com. I do that too. I wish everyone did. It makes a game entry much more informative and worthwhile for others to review. Happy Holidays! Go Mariners!
    -Todd

Leave a comment