8/6/11 at Angel Stadium

It was a Saturday–Michelle had to work that evening–I wanted to go to a ball game.  Luckily, my uncle called me to say that he had four tickets to that evening’s Angels/Mariners game.  Then he asked, did I want two of them?  Score!  I got the family discount–Stubhub! can’t provide that!  So, after picking up the tickets I drove to the stadium and met Chris at the gates–he was using the second ticket.  We headed in and I took off for right field.

It was a frustrating batting practice.  Here was my view for part of it:

I would eventually move closer to right field.  I just wasn’t having any luck… but I had plenty of close calls.  I’ll just cut to the chase: I ended up with one ball through the whole ninety minutes of BP.  It was tossed by Jason Vargas and here it is:

I know the photo’s a bit dark bit it was a nice 50th ball with just one scuff on it… below the logo.  In case you’re wondering what that number on my palm means, I wrote ‘340’ so that I would remember the next ball I snagged was my 340th ball.

After the Angels did some pregame throwing and I missed out on a ball on that side I went to the M’s side of the field and, well, here’s Jack Wilson and Kyle Seager heading into the dugout after their warmup throws:

See how there are about three people looking over at the camera in that photo?  It’s because a moment before I took that picture Wilson tossed me this:

So a poor outing (from a snagging standpoint) got a little bit better.

I went to sit behind the Angel dugout for the first inning and sent my wife a picture message that said: I wonder how long I’ll get to stay here.

It turns out those fans showed up in the fourth inning–but my prime real estate didn’t get me another baseball.  Still, it was an excellent view of Ichiro as he prepared to swing:

And as he led off first base (with Angels rookie pitcher Tyler Chatwood in the foreground):

 

And then…

Well, he’d just stolen second… Aybar is making sure to keep a tag on Ichi while, I believe, the ball is getting switched out since it was scuffed and would no longer be usable in the game.

I spent a little time behind the M’s dugout, too:

Torii took that pitch for a strike, BTW.  After about five innings I checked in with my uncle (and his wife) near their seats:

My uncle Ivar is the man responsible for me being as big a baseball fan as I am–he started taking me to games when I was a little kid (and they were still called the California Angels).  And during the top of the sixth I told them I would be going on a brief walk.  I walked down to the Angel dugout and took a seat about fifteen rows back.  And when Franklin Gutierrez hit a grounder to second baseman Howie Kendrick, Kendrick fired the ball to Mark Trumbo at first for the final out of the frame.  And when Trumbo got near the foul line I waved my arms and called out to him from about six or seven rows back and he threw me the gamer.  Nice!

The night ended up being just fine from a snagging perspective.

Ludacris was scheduled to perform a postgame concert at Angel Stadium and I promised my uncle I would take a bunch of pictures–he also made sure I took one of this pre-recorded interview that played on the jumbotron between innings:

As for the game… well, let’s see… the Angels only scored one run… Treyvon Robinson hit his first career home run (and some fan jumped a railing to chase after it… then encountered some not-too-pleased security personell)… Blake Beavan tossed eight quality innings and Brandon League threw a scoreless ninth.  I was behind the M’s dugout at the time:

And League was pretty efficient.  He got Vernon Wells to pop out.  Then walked Howie Kendrick.

And then Mark Trumbo grounded into a double play to end the game.  :sigh:

I hung around for the postgame interview as Beavan (who’s 6′ 7″) got interviewed and the relievers walked in from the bullpen.

I didn’t get anything tossed to me though except for a few pieces of bubble gum.  A little later, once the stage was set up, assembled, and folks were let onto the infield dirt, Ludacris emerged from the visitor’s dugout and played an hour-long set.

There were over 42,000 in attendance for the game and I’d say at least 25,000 stuck around for the concert.  Some of the M’s were in the dugout watching… including Adam Kennedy–who then walked onto the field in street clothes with his kid and disappeared into the crowd (he came back a little later).

I left before Ludacris finished to beat the traffic out of the parking lot.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

